### CREC COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES 9/16/15

#### COUNCIL

Donald Harris, Chair, Bloomfield Kristen Picard-Wambolt, Vice Chair, Ellington Ronald Eleveld, Sec./Treasurer, Windsor Brian Glenn, Avon Alison Romkey, Bolton Christopher Wilson, Bristol Leslee Hill, Canton Lori Unghire, Enfield Jeremy Grieveson, Glastonbury Melissa Migliaccio, Granby Michael Brescia Hartford Becky Tyrrell, Plainville John Vecchitto, Region 10 Lydia Tedone, Simsbury David Joy, South Windsor Jamie Gamble, South Windsor Terry Lombardi, Southington Jeanne Gee, Suffield Natalie Semyanko, Suffield Terry Schmitt, West Hartford Elaine Paradise, Wethersfield

#### CREC

Bruce Douglas Sandy Cruz-Serrano Regina Terrell Dina Crowl Deborah Richards Mason Thrall Aura Alvarado Sarah Vocca Jeff Ivory Tyra Smith Julia Winer Christine Ruman Cara Hart

### **GUESTS**

Patrice McCarthy - CABE Peter Smith - Rome, Smith & Lutz Robert C. Lindberg – Arthur J. Gallagher & Co John C. Thomson – CT Insurance Dept. Christopher Gallo – CT Insurance Dept.

The following towns were not represented at the meeting: Berlin, Cromwell, East Granby, East Hartford, East Windsor, Farmington, Hartland, Manchester, New Britain, New Hartford, Newington, Portland, Rocky Hill, Somers, Vernon and Windsor Locks.

## I. CALL TO ORDER AND APPROVAL OF MEETING MINUTES

Council Chair Donald Harris called the meeting to order at 11:34 a.m.

MOTION: A motion was made by Jeremy Grieveson, seconded by Lydia Tedone, and passed to approve the minutes of the 6/17/15 Council meeting. The following members abstained: Becky Tyrrell, Terry Lombardi, Jeanne Gee, Alison Romkey, Leslee Hill, Elaine Paradise, Lydia Tedone and Terry Schmitt.

## II. <u>PUBLIC PARTICIPATION</u>

A. Special Recognitions – None

## III. <u>COMMITTEE UPDATES</u>

A. Search – Jeremy Grieveson presented the Council with a handout summarizing the executive director search process to date.

# IV. CONSENT AGENDA

A. 2014-2015 Revised Program

MOTION: A motion was made by Ronald Eleveld, seconded by Jeremy Grieveson and passed unanimously to approve general item one under the revised program consent agenda.

1. GHAA Magnet School

B. 2015-2016 Continuing Programs

MOTION: A motion was made by Ronald Eleveld, seconded by Jeremy Grieveson and passed unanimously to approve general items one through five under the continuing programs consent agenda.

- 1. Interdistrict Anytown Leadership Institute
- 2. CCAT Summer Catalyst
- 3. Discovery Center
- 4. Project Transform
- 5. Metacomet Ridge Interdistrict Summer

## V. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

A. Review of Blue Folder - Executive Director Bruce E. Douglas, Ph.D. welcomed the Council and thanked them for their participation. Dr. Douglas began the report by reviewing the blue folder.

## VI. <u>DELIBERATED ACTION</u>

- A. New Business None at this time
- B. Old Business None at this time
- VII. LEGISLATIVE UPDATE Patrice McCarthy of CABE and Peter Smith of Rome, Smth & Lutz provided an update to the Council.

## VIII. <u>REPORTS</u>

A. Financial Report – presented and accepted

## IX. COUNCIL DISCUSSION

A. Ways to Control the Escalating Cost of Stop Loss Insurance – Presentation by Robert C. Lindberg, Area Senior VP of Arthur J. Gallagher & Co and Christopher Gallo, Insurance Accredited Financial Examiner of the CT Insurance Department.

# X. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

A. MOTION – A motion was made by Ronald Eleveld, seconded by Kristen Picard-Wambolt and passed unanimously to adjourn the Council meeting at 1:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Tyra Smith